About Us

The History of the Omega Omega Chapter

Hold High the Torch!

On December 10, 1926, twenty-two women employing the merit and culture of their foremothers convenes in the city of Philadelphia to create Omega Omega – the twenty-fourth graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority.

Omega Omega’s charter lists the names of Irene Baxter, Florence Beck, Geneva Blake, Irene Marie Bowser, Valeria E. Caldwell, Ann Comegys, Ursula Curd, Bertha DeShields, Daisy Frazier, Hazel Fugett, Marie Gould, Evangeline Hall, Bertha W. Henry, Bertha King, Ethel H. Lyle, Agnes B. Montier, Alberta Norwood, Rosa V. Rodgers, Margarita Scott, Ruth A. Scott, Jessie M. Watkins, and Charlotte Wright.

The December 18, 1926 issue of the Philadelphia Tribune described the occasion: “On Saturday, December 10th, twenty-two prominent Philadelphia college graduates became members…. Alpha Kappa Alpha is not a social club, but an organization whose chief purpose is the promotion of education and culture among Negro women of American.”

While this accomplished group of women included two medical doctors, a psychologist, three pharmacists, three social workers, and several teachers, it should be noted that Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, the visionary of our illustrious sorority, served as Omega Omega’s first Basileus.

On December 10, 2016, we will celebrate ninety years of sisterhood and service! Our present roster of 490 members continues to provide “service to all mankind.” The chapter serves the Philadelphia area with a variety of award winning projects and programs. Omega Omega Chapter serves as an affiliate chapter to our national organization and the North Atlantic Region.

Charter Members

Irence C. Baxter

Geneva W. Blake

Irene Marie Bowser

Ursula Curd

Bertha W. DeShields

Marie Gould

Evangeline Hall


Ethel Hedgeman Lyle

Founding Member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®
Charter Member of Omega Omega Chapter
First Basileus of Omega Omega Chapter.

Bertha W. Henry

Agnes B. Montier

Alberta Norwood

Rosa V. Rodgers

Ruth A. Scott

Jessie Marie Watkins

Charlotte Crogman Wright

AKA Exec Port Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson 080213

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated is an international service organization that was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. in 1908. It is the oldest Greek-lettered organization established by African-American college-educated women.

Alpha Kappa Alpha is comprised of a nucleus of 260,000 members in graduate and undergraduate chapters in the United States, the U. S. Virgin Islands, the Caribbean, Canada, Japan, Germany, Korea and on the continent of Africa.

Its membership is comprised of distinguished women who boast excellent academic records, proven leadership skills, and are involved in the global community through advocacy and service. Alpha Kappa Alpha has dedicated itself to improving the quality of life for citizens worldwide and promoting peace.

Omega Omega Chapter’s Corporate Presence

Jamila Hall-North Atlantic Regional Representative International Constitution Committee

Jacquie L. Jones-North Atlantic Regional Representative to the International Standards Committee

Ashley D. Parker- North Atlantic Regional Representative International Golden/Silver Soror Committee

For more information, please visit our national website at www.AKA1908.com.

Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson, International President

North Atlantic Region

The North Atlantic Region consists of Massachusetts, Eastern New York, Eastern Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Connecticut, Maryland, The District of Columbia, Rhode Island, Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont.

The North Atlantic Regional Director is Meredith L. Henderson. In 1995 at the 64th North Atlantic Regional Conference, past Regional Director Wilma Holmes Tootle proudly proclaimed the region as “Notable”.

Omega Omega Chapter is the home of three past Regional Directors:

Ruth A. Scott (1943-1946)
Emma Brinkley (1956-1960)
Ruth C. Easley (1982-1986)

Omega Omega Chapter’s Regional Presence

Lorina Marshall Blake –  Cluster II Co-Coordinator
Corporate Sponsorship Committee

Carol Parkinson-Hall – Leadership Development Committee
Cluster II Representative to the North Atlantic Regional Program Committee

Ruth Glover Butler – Regional Evaluation and Investigation Team
Stephyne Walker-Hill – Regional Evaluation and Investigation Team
Sherry Hopkins – Regional Editor

For more information, please visit our regional website at http://akanorthatlantic.org. Meredith L. Henderson, North Atlantic Regional Director

1926 Foundation Incorporated

The Philanthropic Arm of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Omega Omega Chapter

The mission of The 1926 Foundation, Inc. is to support the programs of the Omega Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. while also providing scholarship assistance to high school and college students that either plan to attend college or are already enrolled in college.  The Board of Directors will promote and provide charitable, community and educational services that further the mission of Omega Omega. The Foundation will receive annual financial support from the portion of annual chapter membership dues duly approved by the body of Omega Omega financial members each year. The Board will raise funds to support the administration of the Foundation, and charitable community organizations whose mission reflects the programmatic thrusts of Omega Omega. The Board will also ensure that the Foundation engages in nondiscriminatory practices, policies, and procedures in accordance with Federal regulations.

For more information, please visit our foundation website at http://the1926foundationinc.wixsite.com/ the1926foundationinc

Carol Rice, President

Undergraduate Chapters

Omega Omega sponsors three undergraduate chapters in Philadelphia, PA.

Gamma Epsilon (Chartered 1945)

The Gamma Epsilon Chapter is the Philadelphia City Chapter at Drexel University, University of Pennsylvania, St. Joseph’s University, Philadelphia University and LaSalle University.

Tamara Thomas Smith, Graduate Advisor

http://gammaepsilonaka.wixsite.com/ gammaepsilonakas

Delta Iota (Chartered 1954)

The Delta Iota Chapter is on the campus of Cheyney University of Pennsylvania.

Stephyne Walker Hill, Graduate Advisor

Delta Mu (Chartered 1955)

The Delta Mu Chapter is on the campus of Temple University.

Theresa Massey, Graduate Advisor